Go Bottom Go Bottom

Clean the siding

View my Photos
cutter
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-10-19          157362

Hey folks, I am new to vinyl siding, not a big fan of it but since I do have it on the house, wondered if there were any particular cleaners that work without a ton of scrubbing to clean it.

My siding is textured, about three years old and I have been working for the better part of two days trying to clean it. My my method has been to spray it down with soap and then brush as best as I can with my telescoping boat brush. I then use my power washer to finish.

I am not happy with the result on the back of the house and have one end left to do. Both of those areas are extremely difficult to reach, even with the brush.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Clean the siding

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-10-19          157371

I don't know much about vinyl but maybe it depends on what it is that you're trying to remove. If it's mildew or algae soap won't touch it. Have you tried bleach and TSP?

Clean the siding

View my Photos
hardwood
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2008-10-20          157379

I've washed ours a couple times with a regular power washer without any soap. Seems to be OK for a few years, I think I've did it twice in ten years. It needs it again, maybe you inspired me to do it today. Frank. ....

Clean the siding

View my Photos
cutter

2008-10-20          157381

The grain in the siding seems to be trapping the dirt. I can get it off with the washer but it is a slow process and I need to be almost on top of the siding, not doable in most places.