Go Bottom Go Bottom

Stihl chain saws

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-05-26          142492

I bought a Stihl MS290 chainsaw to replace my old worn-out Husky 136 consumer grade saw. The Stihl is awesome but after a few hours the extra 3+ lbs of weight takes it's toll. I'm looking at buying one of the smaller Stihl saws, like the MS250, which is lighter and easier to use on smaller jobs. Are the smaller Stihl saws as well built as their larger brethren?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Stihl chain saws

View my Photos
earthwrks
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-05-26          142493

I've worked with some professional tree cutters. All they use---me too (I'm a contractor, not a tree guy)--is Stihl. The tree guys call the smaller saw "trim saws".

I used to buy Husqvarna, but not after a crappy cutoff saw I had.

I have a 760 or 790 (I think) Stihl 16" diameter cutoff saw which is basically the same as a chain saw---almost 7hp! And it's h-e-a-v-y. I used it cut open jewelry store safes in the Lower 9th Ward, Louisana from Katrina. ....

Stihl chain saws

View my Photos
Art White

2007-05-26          142498

The 290 never impressed me as much as the 260! ....

Stihl chain saws

View my Photos
greg_g

2007-05-26          142502

The professionals use professional grade; which equates with medium and heavy duty equipment. Consumers (such as myself) prefer lighter weight equipment, which pretty much equates with light duty.