Go Bottom Go Bottom

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
otis311
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2008-04-09          152859

Im new to the tractor scene, Im looking at 2 different mowers for my tractor. one is a finish mower the other is a rotery cutter. I need to mow several different areas but dont need them to look like a golf course green, will the cutters be sufficiant ?? Or are they just for knocking down fields and over growth ??

Thanks for the replies

Bob

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-04-09          152860

A rotary cutter will cut grass fine but it won't be a finish cut. The cut will look a bit uneven and the clippings will be larger (not mulch) so you'll see more brown, dead grass for awhile after mowing. Also, the rotary cutter won't follow the terrain as well so you might end up with more scalping. ....

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
otis311

2008-04-10          152862

Thanks for the answer

Much appreciated ....

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
greg_g
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-04-10          152866

Sounds like you should consider a flail mower too Otis. They combine the best features of both the finish mower and rotary cutter.

//greg// ....

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
kthompson

2008-04-10          152868

Otis,
What type of growth will you be cutting? small trees, heavy brush, rough grass, mostly or totally grass without brush or large clumping grass?
Then, what do will you use those areas for? already realize you are not expecting golf course finish.

difference in two mowers

View my Photos
otis311

2008-04-10          152871

Quote:
Originally Posted by kthompson | view 152868