Go Bottom Go Bottom

toyota highlander

View my Photos
brokenarrow
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-05-12          111000

Any opinions on the toyota highlander 4wd vehical? Was thinking about one for the little misses?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

toyota highlander

View my Photos
53Gravely

2005-08-10          114631

I turned in a Camry (1996 V6) w/ 247,000 miles in Feb. The BEST car-- the absolute pinacle of practical engineering.

I got a 2005 V6 highlander AWD--VERY DISAPPOINTING
1) Transmission has a 2 second power lag when you stomp on the accelerator.
2) Cruise control STINKS-- very jerky on the slightest grade
3) Full time AWD is just stupid-too much drag-- 19 MPG on flat interstate highways AT BEST.
4) I am a salesman and neded to carry some samples so I opted for the highlander over a minivan thinking that it's "Camry like". It ain't!!! These mini SUV's are just impractical little yuppiefied stationwagons for suburbanites who see themselves as "rugged individualists" driving "trucks" BUNK. Swallow your ego and get a minivan. They ride a heck of a lot better, carry more and with a good set of European REAL snow tires are just as good in snow. ....

toyota highlander

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-08-10          114636

We live in the sticks and bought a highlander two weeks ago. My wife mostly drives it and hasn't complained about the hesitation but I know many owners have that problem. I believe there is a NHTSA investigation on this problem and toyota has been stonewalling on it for several years.

Some misc. impressions.

1. It does fabulously well on our five mile gravel logging road. AWD and stability control kick in and it's almost like you're on pavement.
2. The seats are too short for drivers 5' 10" tall or taller