Go Bottom Go Bottom

OLIVER 1900 FWD

View my Photos
candoarms
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-08-25          145000

Hello friends,

I'm wondering if anyone here might have any experience with the Oliver 1900 Wheatland tractor?

There's one coming up for auction that I have my eye on. It has an early 1960s model with the 4-53 Detroit Diesel engine, rated at 89 horses, and the tractor weighs in at 12,000 pounds! This one comes equipped with dual remote hydraulics, 3pt. hitch, 540 RPM PTO, and 4-Wheel drive......no loader.

Being that I live in an area in which Oliver never had any dealerships, I have no experience with the brand. My area is largely Case IH, John Deere, and more recently, New Holland country.

I'm very interested in this tractor, mainly because it is small and HEAVY. This would be a fantastic snow removal tractor, as well as a heavy puller. At 12,000 pounds, I don't believe I'd have any problem with a lack of traction in the snow.

For anyone who might be interested, here's a photo.

See the link below.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Joel

Link:   OLIVER 1900 MFWD -- See Lot# 43

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

OLIVER 1900 FWD

View my Photos
candoarms
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-08-25          145001

I have some new information on this beast.

If I understand things correctly, the Oliver 1900 had a two-stroke, turbo-charged diesel. The sound this engine makes when under power is something that takes a lot of getting used to, as it's apparently very noisy.

Additionally, due to it's extreme weight and high horsepower, it was able to pull an 8-bottom plow.......even without the 4-wheel drive option.

Depending on the feedback I receive from my friends here, I believe I'll have one of these Oliver 1900s parked in my barn within a year or two.