Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD 650 Governor Rebuild

View my Photos
bhocken
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-12-10          70737

Hello Forum, I've got a JD 650 (18 hp compact 2 cyl Yanmar diesel). The throttle is sticking. My JD dealer told me it sounds like the governor needs to be rebuilt and recommended I remove it myself and send it out to the same shop they would so I don't have to pay him to do it. Question is, I consider myself of above average ability and knowledge with engines, but I've got limited diesel experience. Not sure what I'm getting into with removing the governor. I don't want to create a bigger problem. Is this a relatively easy task? Should I purchase a Service or Repair manual prior to doing it? Any suggestions or guidance are welcome. Also, is there anything in particular that causes a governor to need a rebuild...bad fuel, water in the fuel, etc?

Thanks, I know this is a wide-open question.
-Bryan

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

JD 650 Governor Rebuild

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-10          70739

I would NOT attempt removing and installing the govenor without the shop manual. After you price out and real from the sticker shock of the manual; you may want to weigh the cost of the manual and the task with how much the dealer would charge. It may not be that difficult a task but having the shop manual to refer to is a must. The final cost may be a wash in the end but then it is hard to place a value on doing the work yourself and knowing it was done right and by the book. ....

JD 650 Governor Rebuild

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-10          70741

I'd certainly recommend getting a service manual. They're handy to have, problems or not.