Go Bottom Go Bottom

Taskmaster 426 E Power Issue

View my Photos
kttaskmaster
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2011-08-10          179758

I have a Taskmaster 426E that has power issues. Hydraulic lifts work fine. I recently added hydraulic and transmission oil (NAPA brand) into the front middle axle via the dip stick bolt opening. It has an small oil leak at the front drive axle. At start up, it will drive fine for about 5 minutes and then it comes to a creeping crawl, and if I hit the smallest of a grade, it literally stops moving. Never have changed the gear oil. Engine sounds good. It has 187 hours on it. What's my next move?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2011-08-10          179760

Re giving up after five min (which I assume you cannot overcome by giving more throttle), loosen the fuel-tank cap. If that doesn't help, troubleshoot the fuel system. Then I'd wonder about a hi-temp cutoff (but I don't know that brand).

Re the gear lube, hyd/trans fluid might leak more easily than the 90-wt gear oil that's often called for in axles.

View my Photos
kttaskmaster

2011-08-11          179761

I'll try the fuel cap, but am not very knowledgeable about the high temp cutoff. Is that something that is integrated with the thermostat? I've also drained the fuel tank and replaced the fuel filter. What else can I do to troubleshoot the fuel system? Thanks for the response! ....

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2011-08-11          179763

You've done the right things, so I don't know what the problem is. Some possibilities are remote:

-A plugged cap vent can lead to a tank vacuum that stops the fuel flow after running a while.