Go Bottom Go Bottom

Build you own trailer

View my Photos
jasonsewell
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-01-16          74252

There are a few options listed in the trailer forum about making your own trailers. Here is what I did...

The first time I needed a trailer of my own, I could not afford one. I was a pretty good welder with a metal yard two businesses away.

I found a 18' camper about 30 years old for sale for $150. The frame was in great shape but the inside looked like a typical '70's Shag Wagon, orange and brown cloth, and it was in poor shape inside.

I flipped the camper over using a Palfinger 32080 knuckle boom mounted on my '96 Mack. Using a die-grinder, I removed the frame bolts.

About $100 worth of steel helped reinforce the frame with a few new cross-members. Another $100 purchased 20' 2X10's and bolts for the boards.

$350 in cash, About 10 hours of my time, 1 hour explaining to DMV why my VIN number does not match the description on their computers, and I had a 20' trailer with dual 5000lb axles and brakes.

Good deal in my book

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Build you own trailer

View my Photos
harvey
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-01-17          74254

jason that's a good deal. Been there and done that. But I whacked the Vins and applied for a new one for a homemade. A lot simpler.

NYS now for that GVWR you'd have to go to a heavy truck shop and have the axles certified and brakes certified along with the break-away system.

I still have a registration for a homemade I made in Alaska and keep looking for the right stuff to start a new one. ....

Build you own trailer

View my Photos
DRankin

2004-01-17          74287

Harvey, Which part of Alaska did you live in? ....

Build you own trailer

View my Photos
jasonsewell

2004-01-17          74289