Go Bottom Go Bottom

Wire-laying implement

View my Photos
n88wrl
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-12-11          120847

I am a ham radio operator and my latest project is a set of vertical antennas. Vertical antennas work best with a 'radial plane' - a bunch of wires laid on the ground in a radial pattern around the base of the antenna. Problem is, these antennas are going out in the pasture with the horses so the wires can't be *on* the ground. I'd like them to be under ground a bit.

So, this seems like a perfect job for my L3130. Is there any sort of 3PH implement that slits the ground and lays wire in the slit? I've seen a machine cable companies use that looks like a sewing machine for the dirt. I can imagine something like a single disk or blade with a feeder for the wire to go in the slit it just made. Then all I'd have to do is back up at the right spot, pull some wire down and drive forward, letting the wire pay out. Cut and repeat!

I already have a box scraper and a FEL - any ideas on how these might be used?

Thanks!

-Brian n8wrl

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Wire-laying implement

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-12-11          120848

If you put one scarifier on your box blade and pull it along the ground it will cut a bit of slit. Then you could manually insert the wire in the slit. A knife like scarifier would probably work better. Maybe you could buy an extra and grind it down. Just some random thoughts on a cold, sunny day. ....

Wire-laying implement

View my Photos
n88wrl

2005-12-11          120874