Go Bottom Go Bottom

The Plus and Minus of Ignoring Your Lawn

View my Photos
bobhope
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2017-04-24          196567

I have been doing NO lawn treatments for about 10 years now. No Lime, no Fertilizer, no herbicides, no insecticide.

The pluses have been no Expenses! And I do not have those heavy green up then yellow out as the Nitrogen based fertilizers suck the PH out of the soil.

The down side is that I have to admit the deer and my dogs poop is just is not that great a developing a thick turf. By July I am at least 50 % weeds and and some areas 100% weeds.

And this year I can see the grass is clumpy from my lack of interest.

I am wondering with the 10 years of nothing and a fairly balanced PH. Would I be better off with a low Nitrogen Organic like Milorganite or root instensive 10 6 4 or hell go with a high nitrogen fix ?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
kthompson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2017-04-24          196571

Have soil sample done and run with that. Others wise you are mostly guessing. But for my dime do not put out all the fertilizer at one time but at least in two if not three or four applications. Helps prevent up and down in the lawn. ....

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2017-04-25          196577

As Kenny stated, get a soil sample done first.

The best way to prevent weeds is NOT chemicals, it's a thick healthy lawn. It will choke out weeds and leave no room for new ones to creep in.

If your lawn is so desperate for nutrients that it yellows off regularly the problem is the soil, or lack of it. Repeated light topdressing, or a full on makeover may be in order.

Best of luck. ....

View my Photos
bobhope

2017-04-25          196578