Go Bottom Go Bottom

John Deere 4030 overheating

View my Photos
bbmoody
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2007-05-29          142561

Replaced head gasket on my 4030 diesel because I was getting antifreeze in my oil and was overheating. Headgasket looked ok, got the head reworked and thought all was well. Now I'm getting antifreeze in my oil again but not while its running, only after it sits overnight. Does anyone have an idea what else could be leading to me getting antifreeze in my oil. I don't think it's a cracked block because she runs just fine.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Billy
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-05-29          142570

It still could be a cracked block even though it runs fine. That could cause it to run hot and antifreeze in the oil.

I'm no mechanic but maybe the block is cracked and when the block heats up, the metal expands and seals the crack. Then when the block cools down, the crack opens and lets antifreeze seep in. ....

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-05-29          142573

Check your water pump and drain seal. There is a drain on the water pump that will start leaking coolant which can get into the engine oil if the drain is obstructed. ....

View my Photos
Art White

2007-05-29          142579

I can't remember if that model engine had a oil cooler but they sometimes will leak one way or the other. Normally they leak when running and it would be oil at the higher pressure when hot then when cold into the anti-freeze. Thirty and forty series did have a weak radiator system. They required replacement more often then not and over heating was a problem. ....

View my Photos
Billy

2007-06-11          142873

Did you ever come up with a fix?

View my Photos
hardwood

2007-06-12          142894