Go Bottom Go Bottom

Belarus Tractor torgue for head bolts

View my Photos
bushhog
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2009-03-07          160860

Hi guys; Let me prefice by saying I am a real novice mechanic and I'm working off suggestions from everywhere.I have a 1994 Belarus 250A, my problem is the fly wheel will only go halfway arround. I need to remove the head to see what is stopping the pistons or rods from moving completly up and down. I am told that the torque and order of loosening and tightening on all bolts is critical. My question is how do I find this torque and order information?This info is not in owners manual or parts catalog. Thanks for any info.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-03-07          160862

It's similar to removing/installing a tire rim. No precautions are required to remove them, but to be kind to the metal, you could loosen each opposite pair by two hairs (sorry, only advanced mechanics understand "hair" metrics), and then undo them.

To install, start around the middle of the head and work outward, alternating ends, in at least three steps toward the final torque setting. It's only that number that you need to get, likely around 70-80 foot-pounds.

Unless you are careful and lucky, plan on replacing the gasket between the head and the block (after thoroughly cleaning and inspecting the two mating surfaces). If you're planning on keeping it a long while, consider getting new head bolts and checking their torque after 100 or so hours. ....

View my Photos
cutter
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-03-07          160866

Are you convinced the problem is between the head and piston and not on the bottom end? ....

View my Photos
bushhog

2009-03-07          160870

Thanks auerbach.