Go Bottom Go Bottom

R1 Tires

View my Photos
Clemson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-02-17          35678

I am a complete Newbie to tractors. Can someone please explain tire nomenclature to me? My tractor has R1 13.6x28 tires. What does the R1 mean? I see people talking about R4 tires here, but the manual for my tractor does not list an R4 tire as an acceptable tire. What is all of this about?

Thanks,

Clemson

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

R1 Tires

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-02-17          35681

Hello, Clemson.
R1 and R2 tires are generally called "Ag" or agricultural tires as on your tractor. They are considered the best when traction is the most important. R3 tires are turf tires, just like you'd see on a lawn tractor; around here, usually don't see them on anything bigger than a compact tractor or 8N-sized tractor. Usually used when minimizing ground damage is important. Also ride smooth. R4 tires are called industrial tires; they resemble ags but have wider, more shallow cross bars for treads. Most people consider them a compromise between ag and turf tires; less traction than ags, harder on the grass than turfs (or more traction than turfs, easier on the grass than ags). Tire choice is a hot topic on this board. Some people love the R4's, some hate them. I like mine because I mow my yard with my tractor and also use it in the woods a lot, the R4's are more rock/puncture resistant than turfs would be.

I would like to know what the actual nomenclature R1, R2, etc. means, if it means anything.

The link below is a good tire reference.

Hope it helps,
Bill ....

Link:   Titan tire reference

R1 Tires

View my Photos
RoyJackson

2002-02-18          35686

There ia also a bar-turf tire available.
These are somewhat more aggressive then turf tires. ....

R1 Tires

View my Photos
TomG