Go Bottom Go Bottom

American Battries for Chinese Tractor

View my Photos
STSIMON
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-02-16          49345

I have a 38HP TaskMaster tractor from China. The battery is an old type battery and does not hold a charge. I want to change it with an American batter but I can't understand the chinese writing on the battery. What are the dangers with getting the wrong size of battery?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-02-16          49351

Just shooting from the hip here because I don't know what you mean by size.

If you get the voltage right all else follows. Assuming it is a standard wet cell, if it has 6 caps it is a nominal 12 volt battery.

If this is right so far, look for a battery with the same, or close to the same, physical dimensions and get the highest rated cold cranking amps in that size.

Diesels use more power than a gas engine in the starting cycle due to glow plugs and higher compression. Make sure you don't get a deep cycle battery as that is not what you need. You may even find a battery designed for diesel engines and that would be good.

We don't get many reports on chinese tractors here, how is yours holding up?

Can you give us some basics, like tractor weight, and what you use it for, how many hours have you run it, and any maintenance issues? ....

View my Photos
STSIMON

2003-02-16          49352

Thanks.

This is a 2003 38HP task master with fourwheel drive & a frontend loader. It weighs about 3300 and has power steering. It does not have the Hydrostatic Transmission so it works my left leg a little but it mainly stays in creaper gear anyway.

I've been pulling out small stumps (mainly pine of 2 to 4 inches) and moving a lot of brush (13 acreas). I plan on putting on a woodchipper and blade on the back.