Go Bottom Go Bottom

John Deere 990

View my Photos
Brad Smith
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-03-02          36009

I recently traded my 4300 (1999) for a new JD 990 with R-4's and a 430 loader.

I really like the tracor feel-the positive shifting and the smooth 4cyl - My only question is will the loader have the same lifting capacity as the 430 loader on my 4300 JD?
I also have seen no comments from other 990 owners-as stated before-it seems to be an excellent product and excellent value for the money-I wasn't all that happy with the 4300 but this new green machine seems to be all one could want in it's class!! Comments?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

John Deere 990

View my Photos
Sams Hoggn

2002-03-03          36025

I had a 990 for almost 2 years just traded for a 4600. I loved the 990 it just was a no frills tractor. the 430 loader lifted more than I expected.I do tractor work for a living and I ran it 800 hours and only broke 2 seat springs. ....

John Deere 990

View my Photos
jd110_1963

2002-03-03          36037

Brad, the 990 uses the same 430 loader with different mounting brackets. The 4300 has a higher hydraulic system relief pressure than the 990, so you might see a slight reduction in lift capacity. I was unable to find any specs to send you. ....

John Deere 990

View my Photos
Brad Smith

2002-03-08          36175

Thanks for the comments and info-really pleased with this tractor-just seems more tractor like and capable-I use it a lot with a york rake and scraper blade-seems just the ticket!!
Thanks again. ....

John Deere 990

View my Photos
Captain B

2002-03-08          36179