Go Bottom Go Bottom

Jin Ma-180 TY290

View my Photos
sparky985
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2011-07-12          179370

ok... I'm new to diesel engines. Have an old Jin Ma-180 TY290 tractor. I'm not getting any fuel through the fuel pump. I have all the operations manuals for the engine and the parts books, but can't read chinese. Anybody have any suggestions how to and where to start trouble shooting? Any help would be appreciated.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Jin Ma-180 TY290

View my Photos
greg_g
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2011-07-12          179372

If it has a hand primer, that's used only to get fuel as far as TO the injection pump. That's the low pressure side. Loosen the IP end of the flexible line connecting the fuel filter and the IP. Pump the hand primer until fuel comes out, tighten back down. If there's no hand primer, crank the engine to push fuel that far. Once fuel starts running out of the low pressure hose, tighten it back down. Now you've got to get that fuel through the IP and up to the injectors. The hand primer can't do that. First check/correct the pump oil level as necessary. Then at the top of each steel line, loosen the hex collars where they attach to the injector bodies. Crank the engine, watch the loosened hex collars. You'll see bubbles first. When the bubbles turn to raw fuel, tighten the collars back down. Your engine should start now.

If this procedure doesn't get fuel TO the injectors, you've got an IP problem.

//greg// ....

Jin Ma-180 TY290

View my Photos
sparky985

2011-07-12          179377

thanks, I'll give it a try when i can and let you know... appreciate the fast response. ....

Jin Ma-180 TY290

View my Photos
sparky985

2011-07-13          179385

I cant figure out how to check the IP oil level. Hard to find an exploded view of the pump. ....

Jin Ma-180 TY290

View my Photos