Go Bottom Go Bottom

suspensions information needed

View my Photos
brokenarrow
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-07-24          113864

I need a lesson on suspensions and reasons for this. I will start by saying I am NOT a mechanic, never was and never will be. After you read this you will see what I mean. I have a little Honda recon 250 2wd. At the time I bought it my kids were younger and I needed transportation. Hence a recon was a perfect choice. Small enough for the kids to learn on yet large enough to get me in and out of the woods. Actually, I have never got stuck and have gone thru as much as my bud on his 500 polarus 4x4. Only thing is clearance and deep snow that will stop her but in small muddy water holes it runs right thru! Anyway the jist of this post is not that.
I am looking into buying anouther wheeler so I can trail ride with one of the kids and (of course) one of the kids can take the recon.
My recon gives me a very rough ride. You feel every bump and I mean feel it.!!! Why is it that the larger wheelers I have drove are very smooth over bumps? I alwys thought it was the independent suspension? Am I correct? If so then why is it that when I look up Hondas and the recon has the same front suspension as the larger ones?
Have they changed since I bought mine or what?
Guess what I am asking is how big do I have to go to get a semi decent ride? I like the 350's and the 400's I really do not want anything larger if I can get a decent ride with a cheaper smaller one. I am a small guy and dont care to muscle the large bulky atv's around.
Thanks

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
shinefeak
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-07-25          113875

Broken,