Go Bottom Go Bottom

Digging farm pond

View my Photos
tchunter13
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-01-29          23795

I would like to dig a quarter acre pond about 4 feet deep. Will a JD 955 with a front load and backhoe be enough machine? Any suggestions would be appreciated since I am new to this.How about using the 955 for food plots(1 acre)? What attachments would it need. This is planned for a currently wooded area that I would remove the trees.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Digging farm pond

View my Photos
Todd

2001-01-29          23798

Oh boy, a quarter acre is about 11,000 square feet. Times four feet deep is 44,000 cubic feet of dirt. Divide that by 27 cu ft / yard is about 1600 yards of dirt. I'd guess you can get 1-2 cubic feet per scoop with a backhoe on a JD955. That's 22,000 scoops. Then you'd have to move that dirt with the bucket!
Since I have a B2710 (about the size of the 955), and need our pond enlarged to something similar, I know this math is a little depressing. When I first got my tractor I had dreams of digging Lake Todd in the backyard, so we could skate on it in the winter. I've given up on that. If I had unlimited funding, I'd get a CAT 330B excavator and a dump truck. The 330B is 236HP and 76,300lbs, or about 35 times the size of the Deere955 or my Kubota, and it probably costs about the same as my house.