Go Bottom Go Bottom

Need to learn about methods for different climate

View my Photos
DeTwang
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-12-29          72646

I'm a contractor in sunny southern ca.. I'm going to be making the move pretty soon (probably early spring) to my property up in northern ca. (about 4000', 1-2' of snow/5-40 degrees in winter, 80-90 degree in summer).

I plan to build some storage buildings right off the bat, and I'm wondering about what things I need to take into account considering the new climate when it comes to pouring pads, underground plumbing/electrical, roofing, etc.. At this point I'm planning on 8x16 steel reinforced block construction on a concrete pad with double steel doors. Haven't decided on roofing yet (possible steel).

There is currently a double wide trailer on the property (plus a couple outbuildings), and I want to start planning for an in-laws/guest quarters, as well as adding a bathroom to one of the existing outbuildings.

I know nothing about septic systems and almost nothing about wells. There is currently one of each on the property and they are working fine. How do I tell if the septic system is big enough for adding the additional bathroom and guest quarters (also with it's own bathroom/kitchenette)? Is this something the county (Shasta) is likely to have me dig up and replace if I build either of these things?

At some point I'd also like to add a small pond (maybe 30k-50k gallons) also serving as a fire water resevoir) and stream/brook (barely moving) on the property with a solar powered pump to give it some circulation (maybe with a couple little waterfalls/elevation changes where the pump returns the water into the stream). Probably going to use a simple plastic liner (4 to 6 feet maximum depth) for the pond/stream with part of the stream buing built up/tiered above ground. What issues do I have to worry about as far as freezing/frost?

Thanks,
Mark S.