Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD 950 Starting Problem

View my Photos
David
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-03-17          80216

Upon turning the ignition key on my 950, the starter often makes a single "click". I repeatedly turn the key off and on again until the starter works successfully.
Yesterday, at the first turn of the key, there came a brief, scratchy buzzing, then nothing with repeated turns of the key. With a short piece of wire I've tried completing the circuit across the solenoid? to starter. This causes a few small sparks, but no action in the starter.
It must be obvious I have no knowledge of basic engine stuff. I recently bought this tractor with a front end loader, and can't imagine life anymore without it. Looking for some advice to solve this problem. Thanks.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

JD 950 Starting Problem

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-03-17          80226

I would start with inspecting and cleaning the battery cable, frame ground, and starter connections. I would also check the state of charge of the battery. If all those things are good, sound like a probable starter solenoid or remote possibility of a bad starter switch. Sure sounds like the starter solenoid problem on my boat from setting for the winter.

Before you purchase a starter service parts kit part# CH12505 ; you may want to check around your area to see if there is a shop or dealer that can rebuild your starter. The starter and solenoid appear to be one piece and a new replacement starter part# TY6716 costs $506.00 ! Wish I had better news. Hopefully one of the other guys here will jump in with a better idea! ....

JD 950 Starting Problem

View my Photos
BillBass

2004-03-18          80246