Go Bottom Go Bottom

need help trying to decide what tractor

View my Photos
buckweet
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-10-11          98107

dear sirs..
im an army contractor over here in kuwait.
should be home in five months,
i live in thrush missouri..[middel of nowhere]
i run cow calf .. on 110 acres.
im running an 1965 farmall 706 with loader..
[gas]... and its plum wore out.
veryhard to start.. im giving up on the ol'girl... going to get a DIESEL ! but what kind ? price is of concern..
im looking to at least pull a baler, and pick up a 1500 pound bale..
later on ?? if i can afford it. i'ed like to buy a used 4x4 round baler. so ?? im needing at least a 40 horsepower PTO..??? im interested . in a 4x4 with shuttel shift.. if i can afford one. used 1995 or newer ?? maybe ??
i havent been keeping track of tractor prices . been a long long time... i saw a new hollad in a paper for 14000 !!!! and a kubota l4300 45 hp?? if i remember right.
about the same price..
im thinking ?? i could maybe come up with half, and make a small payment.. need a loader too... caint live with out one ! ha !
i shure hope someone will e-mail me back... and let me know what they think.. what brand..price, ect.. who's the best.. ect..
thank you.
tim r. hudson
im at trhudson
at
yahoo
.com

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-10-11          98133

buckweet,

Didn't see all of these requirements when I replied to your question on the other post. Picking up the 1,500 lb. bales and running a baler sheds a different light. You need a good all around farm utility tractor. Depending upon the amount of features you can do without I would suggest the Deere 5205 or the 5220/5320. The 5205 is the more basic of the two but offers the 8F/4R SyncShuttle trans. whereas the 5220/5320 offers the 12/12 Power Shuttle trans.