Go Bottom Go Bottom

Help needed in deciding what size and type of compact tractor to buy

View my Photos
David
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

1999-10-08          8627

I am completely new to the world of tractors and the joys of home ownership. I have a 3 acre yard that is a mixture of wooded lot and areas of grass. The whole lot is on a slope of varying gradient probably form 10 to 22 degrees. My main objectives for any machine would be to be able to mow in the summer and clear snow effectively from a 250 ft surfaced driveway. Over the next few years I intend to re-landscape the lot, clear some of the wooded areas, build a garage into the hillside and build some dry stone walls. I have about $10,000 to spend and could stretch to more if the arguments were good enough to convince my wife! I want to get a compact tractor that is not overkill but would be a good investment to assist in the yard projects. So I am open to advise. Is a compact tractor even the right way to go? I particularly would like to know how many hours is too many on a second hand compact and any recommended second hand dealers.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
dsg
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

1999-10-08          8635