Go Bottom Go Bottom

Should I buy a tractor

View my Photos
Jeff
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2000-02-11          12718

Hi, I have a 100+ acre hunting camp in the Adirondacs, about 15% is field rest wooded. I think a tractor would be very handy for clearing brush, mowing, hauling firewood, planting food plots and many more things. My concern is, I now live 500 miles from my camp and I'm only there for about 30 days a year. How well would a tractor fair being kept in a shed for 5 months at a strech ? Winter lows range below -30 f most years, would I have to do any special perperation to over winter it ? Assuming the long periods storage will not be a problem what size tractor should I be looking at 25, 35, 40 hp ? As you can tell I'm a complete newbie to the tractor world (I have not even driven a ridding lawn mower), do dealers offer some sort of training for safe operation of this equipment. My camp is isolated and I'm often alone on 3 day trips so I am concerned about learning safe operating procedures before buying one of these machines.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Should I buy a tractor

View my Photos
Steve Hansen

2000-02-11          12719

Get a tractor. Once you have one you will never understand how you got along without one. Good for all the things you cited and much more. Based on what you have described I would look for a used compact in the 25 hp range. You will want 4wd and a ROPS (roll over protection system). I have a little place in the hills. I use my tractor to keep the open areas mowed and to pull the deadfalls out of the woods. This year we used it for bringing deer back to camp. With proper anitfreeze, a thermostatically controlled block heater, and a trickle battery charger your tractor will always be ready when you are. ....

Should I buy a tractor

View my Photos
JonB

2000-02-12          12723