Go Bottom Go Bottom

Loader for digging

View my Photos
imtools
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-11-26          69660

I have been under the assumption that a FEL is not really meant for digging (penetrating un-tilled ground). Is this so? Unlike a skid steer where the arms rest against the frame of the machine when they are in the lowest position, a FEL has no support like that and the typical arm is "bent" over the front wheel which is a weak point when trying to push forward.

After loosing out on a Kubota loader attachment last nite on eBay, I am determined to design and build my own loader (I am a mechancial engineer with an extensive home machine shop so there's not much problem here other than time). I don't see why I couldn't have the bucket rest against the frame when down. I am also thinking of putting a quick attach plate on it so it can take skid steer attachments. Just think of it-all the 3-point attachments for the back AND all the skid steer attachments for the front---my back yard will be covered by attachments.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Loader for digging

View my Photos
TomG

2003-11-26          69667

Your screen name does forecast your inclinations, or maybe imtoys would work too. In either case the idea sounds pretty good.

My tractor is fairly traditional and it doesn't have a frame per se. There are side rails on the engine but the structure really is the cases. My loader frame does a decent job of distributing load but I suppose there could be better designs and it would be interesting to think about.