Go Bottom Go Bottom

Tips for First time FEL or Front End Loader users

View my Photos
arcwelder
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2015-11-01          193993

I was asked about tips for using a FEL or Front End Loader.
I started this thread to help.
I have a Long 2510 Tractor that I fit a Massey Ferguson 232 loader with a Massey Ferguson 1017 Backhoe. Yes everything works correctly.

I am not an expert on this equipment, so I do not know everything.
I do know a few things.
I hope those that know more than me will add corrections or more information, so feel free to add information or ask questions.

Tractors pull and push. Add an FEL, it also lets you lift.
Keep in mind that a tractor does not have any suspension or springs to absorb any shocks.
When you do anything with a tractor, try to avoid jerking or bumping to get things done. If pulling with a chain or cable, slowly move forward and take up slack before applying power.

FEL's follow the same thoughts. If digging, move forward slowly, while lowering the bucket. Use smooth movements on the controls. Once you feel the bucket is full, pull the curling lever (move to right if it is a single joystick) to scoop while lifting the bucket.

When driving around with a full bucket, lower the bucket slowly so that it is near the ground. This is especially important when on a slant. The higher you have a full bucket, the higher the center of gravity moves. When the center of gravity passes the point of contact by the outside of the wheels, the tractor will tip.
Keep the speed down so that the bucket will not bounce. See the section on forces below.

Adding Implements to the bucket.
My dad added a piece of channel iron with clevises at both ends and the center. I added a short piece of channel to bolt to.
I also have a Hay Spear and Forks I made that connect to the top of the bucket. More on that in another post on this thread

The level indicator.