Go Bottom Go Bottom

Build it yourself Loader Hoes

View my Photos
DeTwang
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-05-31          56125

I'm very interested in the CadPlans/Metkit Hoe and loader kits, and am in the investigating it stage.

I am a General Contractor with a background in Commercial electrical Construction. I recently acquired some property in northern California, and want to get to work improving it. I'm hoping to get away from the remodel work I've been doing and start building spec homes (for myself, not another contractor).

I'm looking for a machine that will allow me to dig residential foundations and trenching for sewer, gas, electrical and water service. Also some landscaping and light land clearing/demolition work.The dirt up in the mountains where I'm moving to i a lot harder than the stuff I'm used to in the LA area, so I don't know if these machines are only for easy digging or if they can handle some harder stuff too.

I like the fact that the cad diggers and similar machines from their competitors are so small and lightweight.

I plan on buying an older stakebed truck (probably 12'/1 ton) in the next week or so to use for moving and for hauling materials. I currently work out of a newer 1/2 ton chevy van that is pretty much loaded with tools and supplies to the point that I don't want to use it for towing the hoe/loader, so the 1 ton will also be used for this.

My new home is above the snow line so I will need to use the 1 ton for work during that 3 to four month period of the year as the van wont be able to deal with the snow. I was thinking I could build a blade that would attach to the front of the loader bucket for clearing snow and then sell the snow blower that is currently on the lawn tractor.

I currently have a Lawn Chief (18 hp) tractor, but I'm thinking it might be too small to use for the digger/loader.