Go Bottom Go Bottom

Backhoes and breaking frames

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-02-01          35196

I've been itching to start a thread on this topic for a few months, every since I became interested in 3ph hoes.

My dealer warned me to be careful (with my NH TC29) because he personally had seen two tractors of this size "broken in half" by backhoes. I'm not sure if it was 3ph or sub-frame hoes. Anyway, at least one was broken (or was first noticed) either when tramming or trailering the tractor, that is, not when the hoe was in use.

Does anybody have a good idea where these tractors are breaking specifically, and what really causes it? I have a fair grasp of the statics involved, and really can't see how a 3ph hoe breaks the frame, unless perhaps a FEL was heavily loaded and a strong shock or dynamic load is imposed by the hoe.

I'm trying to design and fabricate a frame reinforcement for my tractor, just to ease my mind. Unfortunately, a full sub-frame mount (which would require hydraulic stabilizers on my CadPlans backhoe) isn't in the cards right now.

Thanks for any ideas.

Bill

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
TomG
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-02-02          35202

I haven't seen a broken one, but I believe the breaks are usually at one of the split points because the case bolts fail. I heard about a break on a Ford/NH 1720 (I think) described as right under the seat.