Go Bottom Go Bottom

Inverter Installation On A L3240 Kubota

View my Photos
Sassi7855
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2012-10-30          185338

I have a need this winter to trim and remove small trees in the three to six inch diameter range, and tree limbs along fence lines. I am considering the idea of installing an inverter on my Kubota L3240 such that I can carry a pole saw in the FEL and as I travel along the fence lines stop and use it to cut the limbs and small trees that need removal.

I need to know the pros and cons on this. I have never done this before and am wondering if others have.

How would you connect an inverter on a Kubota L3240 since it does not have a "cigarrette lighter" plug in on it? What size (capacity) inverter should I use for a pole saw? Is this idea even workable?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2012-10-30          185342

I use mine all the time for such tasks. I mounted it permanently to the frame, grounded it well, hardwired the live terminal through welding cable to my battery positive, and made a weather cover for it. And I hardwired a 50' extension cord to each saw, leaf blower, string trimmer, etc.

Inverters (other than little cigarette-lighter phone chargers) have two numbers, the number of watts CONTINUOUS and the PEAK capacity (usually twice the former). Ignore the latter. Most every electrical tool has a plate giving the number of amps it draws (at 110v). Multiply by 100 to get the approximate minimum wattage needed in the inverter. For instance, if your saw draws 8 or 9 amps you'd look for an inverter rated about 1000 watts continuous.

Let me know anything else you'd like to know. ....

View my Photos
billtreat
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2012-10-30          185347