Go Bottom Go Bottom

L4310 with Hydrostatic transmission

View my Photos
dasowards
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2019-04-25          198358

L4310 w hydrostatic transmission, I am new to this tractor and linkage is not very smooth going in and out of neutral. My question ?? When lever is in the neutral position and I push on the forward reverse foot pedal this tractor moves, I thought when in neutral there should be no movement??
If this is incorrect is it more likely than not an internal issue or a linkage/ external ??? Is it a problem

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2019-04-25          198359

I am amazed that it would move as the range is gear and in or out

1 ....

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2019-04-30          198362

I too have a low hour 4310 at home as my own 'toy' as well as several in my fleet that work daily.

One of the quirks I've found with low hour units is that the linkage gets stiff, VERY stiff. The range selector, PTO engagement, even the 3pth lever (although to a MUCH lesser extent).

With the range selector though the linkage is primarily flat bars which when forced will bend slightly. You can actually deflect the linkage enough to make the selector look like it's in neutral when it's actually in the middle range.

The easy diagnosis is try shifting the range lever between L, M, and H, f it moves easily the linkage is merely out adjustment, if it doesn't move well, there's your problem.

Best of luck. ....

View my Photos
dasowards

2019-04-30          198363

Thanks for the response.