Go Bottom Go Bottom

Kubota HST GST Shuttle or Gear Transmission

View my Photos
jjradtech
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2009-06-05          163231

Hi All,
I am from s.w. georgia and new to this forum.
I am looking to buy a tractor, 24 to 30 hp in the next
several months. I like the Kubotas and have a dealer locally. My question is concerning a HST transmission
with the front end loader. I was all set to go with this transmission until today, when a Kubota salesman at a dealership, said he did not reccommend a HST with a FEL,
due to the load on the transmission.He strongly reccommended the shuttle shift. Any thoughts, info would be greatly appreciated. Also I am not a mechanic, this will be my 1st tractor purchase. Also this tractor would do more mowing (4acres) than any thing else.
thans--jerry

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
bvance
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-06-05          163232

Jerry,

I'm a big believer in HST. I have a BX HST model, so it is considerably less HP than what you are looking at, so perhaps what the dealer is telling you might be true, but several others on this Board with more experience with larger tractors and HST vs gear will weigh in soon.

If a loaded FEL has no effect on the transmission, I would go with the HST for ease of use.

Some on this Board prefer gear to HST, but I think if you polled everyone on this Board, HST would win the popularity contest. It's just easier, faster and I believe more precise in tight situations. Many mfg. make HST in pretty big industrial equipment and it works just fine, so if Kubota has engineered it right (and they do very well at this) I gotta believe an HST would be just fine.

Brian ....

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-06-05          163233