Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD 950 Temp Light

View my Photos
Todd Wilson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-04-23          27121

I'm new to tractors but not new to engines and so forth. My tractor is a 2wd 950 diesel. It has a rebuilt engine with about 23 hours on it now. I am doing some bush hog work with it. Its warming up now here in kansas and I have been mowing. Its been up in the 70's and starting to get warm.Question.......What temperature does the TEMP light come on at? Is this a dangerous temperature when this light comes on or is it a warning to do something different before its dangerous? I have had the temp light come on a few times and stop and clear the front screen from the radiator. I stop every once in a while to clean the screen but sometimes the temp light comes on and then I stop. At an idle I clean the screen and within 30 seconds the light goes out and away I go. Is this the normal thing or is the temp light coming on when the diesel is at a dangerous temp level? If this is a dangerous level how can I correct this so it doesnt happen every 30 minutes of mowing. There are times I get into some brush that has a lot of small particles flying about and the screen plugs pretty fast. I just dont want to damage this diesel engine from heat and especially being rebuilt. So far its running like a top. Good power and everything. It doesnt seem to skip a beat when the temp light comes on. I constantly watch the lights as I mow so I dont run it for an extended time with the temp light on.Thanks!Todd

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

JD 950 Temp Light

View my Photos
Mark E. Lamprey

2001-04-23          27123

Todd, I am looking at the manual for my 950, on page 7 under Engine Break-in, for the first 100 hours, it says, 1) Avoid unncessary engine idling. If tractor will be idle for more than five minutes, stop the engine.