Go Bottom Go Bottom

Advice for Horseowner with Multiple Sclerosis

View my Photos
paseneaux
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-04-26          128359

I have 5 flat acres, 3,600ft. elev., 3 with underground irrigation for horse pasture, small yard, 2 horses. I have limited arm strength expecially with overhead use and the heat quickly saps my leg energy. I need something that has decent steering, need some snow-plowing, scraping of paddocks, scooping poop, mowing, small cart/trailer attachment and manure spreaded.
I'm concerned about changing attachments - just how easy or difficult is this? I am a total novice at any of this tractor stuff, but I do haul around a horse trailer and grew up driving 4W drive trucks. I have gathered information on the NH sub-compacts, the JD 2210, the Massey GC's and Kubota BX23. I just moved to this area, but do have a neighbor who is very tractor savvy and will probably ask him to accompany me when I actually go shopping. He plowed for me this past winter as we had unexpected heavy snows, but he work's part-time and I need to be more independent.I am on a fixed income and will be financing this purchase. JD and NH seem to have good deals right now.In case you are all wondering what the heck this gal is doing with all this and MS--I grew up with horses and riding keeps my leg strenth and balance going...it is a lot of work and time, but the pay-off is worth it. Thank you in advance for all your expertise!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Iowafun
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-04-26          128360