Go Bottom Go Bottom

Snow Removal Method Idea

View my Photos
schlich92
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-11-15          119375

I have thought a great deal about how I am going to remove snow from my driveway. It is about 1/2 mile long and I have a 4310 with a FEL. This is my first year, so I first considered the cadillac plan of having a front mounted blower, then after reading a lot of the posts and talking to a local dealer...decided that may be more money than I really need to spend. I like what Murf has designed, but thought a cheaper way to go would be to have a blade on the back and drive forward with the bucket tilted up a little with it in float mode with a the blade behind angled and offset to direct the spillover from the bucket to one side. I could possibly add a little extension on the back blade to move more snow to the side. I am interested in comments on my idea.....

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Snow Removal Method Idea

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2005-11-15          119376

First of all, thank you.

Now, one of the main things about plowing snow most people don't think about at all, until it's too late, is that any snow plow blade has a trip mechanism of some sort built in for safety. A rear blade or the FEL bucket does not.

When you hit something frozen into the ground, and you WILL do it eventually, you will be very lucky if you only get a good thump, I've seen both people and equipment hurt pretty badly doing it. There has to be some 'give' in there some were.

As for cheap, if you're a bit handy and can weld, you should be able to do what I did for $500 or less.

Compared to what you might pay your chiropractor or JD dealer that might be a real bargain. ;->

Best of luck. ....

Snow Removal Method Idea

View my Photos
DennisCTB