Go Bottom Go Bottom

Farm Pro 2425 4WD working

View my Photos
farmpro_newb
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2011-07-25          179525

Hi and greetings to all here. I am new to tractors as I am sure will be obvious from my many questions and posts so my apologies upfront.
I finally worked on and got my 2004 2425 up and running and am playing with it a bit in my yard. I quickly got it stuck trying to push a medium size pine over with the FEL. All this while in 2WD. I thought I could finish the job or have better luck by putting it into 4WD. The lever seemed to engage ok but saw little difference in power or any benefit at all. My rear tires still spun but I never saw either of the front ones spin or did they seem to be benefiting me. Is there a quick and easy way to tell if my 4WD is engaging and working as it should? Thanks!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
farmpro_newb

2011-07-25          179526

PS: If the is a neutral position between 2WD - 4WD it appears the shifting travel to go to 2WD is (top of control lever) about 4 inches but towards the 4wd position only about 1 inch. Am I even getting i it into 4WD? I put it into what I thought was 4WD, raised the front tires off the ground using the FEL yet the front tires spun easily by hand with only a slight clicking sound while spinning. Maybe I am not even getting her into 4WD at all? If not, what might I be doing wrong here?

Thanks again,
Newb ....

View my Photos
greg_g
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2011-07-25          179527

Many first time owners experience equipment failures when learning the difference between tractor work and bulldozer work. Tractors are for pulling, front loaders are for lifting/carrying, bulldozers are for pushing. Opinions and conditions vary, but I'd consider pushing over medium sized trees to be dozer work.