Go Bottom Go Bottom

Potato diggers

View my Photos
kthompson
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2014-03-21          189698

I am looking for a simple to build digger for potatoes. Want to use it for Irish, Sweet potatoes and would like it it would work with peanuts.

Looking for something suitable for really large garden. Might plant 1/4 acre of each crop per year. One reason no more is don't have good digging method.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Potato diggers

View my Photos
hardwood
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2014-03-21          189704

Kenneth;

Lots of kids sometimes works.
I have no experience digging peanuts but regular potatoes in a garden our size about 1/1000th. of an acre, three rows about 15 ft. long we simply mulched the taters with grass clippings and they would develop right below the mulch, no digging required. Just scratch the mulch over and there laid the taters. Anything much bigger would likely not work, just too much hassle with the clippings plus where would you get that many clippings?
When I was a kid one of the neighbors used to have a regular potato digger that was like an oversize pointed shovel with a cogged wheel behind the shovel the shook some rods to somewhat sort the taters from the soil. There were two wooden handles to guide it while a horse pulled it. I do remember the sandy and dry soils worked the best.

Frank.

Potato diggers

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2014-03-21          189705

Kenny, there's a couple of ways you could go. They're dead simple to build, or if you look at places like Northern Tools or Harbor Frieght they have inexpensive 'offshore' middle-busters that would work fine for 'taters.