Go Bottom Go Bottom

Colorado 5 cyl emgine

View my Photos
hardwood
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-02-26          125152

I've been doing a little research on small pickups. I'm thinking along the lines of a Chevy Colorado or Ford Ranger. I've had a two or three Dodges in the past that weren't much and I'd rather stay with a domestic brand. I think Ford still uses the 3.0 V6 that gave us good service in a couple Taurus cars, and Chevy uses a 5 cyl engine that I have no experience with, so just wondered if any one who has one could offer their thoughts, good or bad about the 5 cyl. Frank.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Colorado 5 cyl emgine

View my Photos
AV8R
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-02-26          125154

The five is a version of the six offered in the Trailblazer. It had some teething issues early on with dropping the #5 cyllinder sleeve (sleeved aluminum block), but, I think that has been overcome now.

I know little else on the five. ....

Colorado 5 cyl emgine

View my Photos
wr5evk8jj
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-02-26          125177

My recollection of the Ford Ranger was that it was a rebadged Mazda B2000. Don't know if that is still true though. ....

Colorado 5 cyl emgine

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-02-26          125178

Maybe the Ford Ranger & Mazda badging is the other way around. Ford was selling a small Ranger like pickup (the Courier) before they bought Mazda. My Ranger was built in the Chicago Ford plant. Of course these days maybe the Chicago Ford plant is really a Mazda plant. ....

Colorado 5 cyl emgine

View my Photos
Murf

2006-02-27          125214

Ford had a marketing arrangement with Mazda long before the share swap.