Go Bottom Go Bottom

How big a tractor to farm 20 acres

View my Photos
jjmellon
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-09-19          64365

I've just bought a farm with about 20 acres of rolling fields to farm, 1/4 mile of rolling driveway to maintain and snowplow, and 50 acres of rolling woods to "manage".

What size tractor is big enough to farm 20 acres, including plowing up pasture? I assume that is the hardest job I've got, right?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
F350Lawman
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-09-19          64367

I am no tractor expert but I'll take a stab.

I would say you can buy something a little bigger than you need and in the end you will save money. I think the large tractors are too big for the majority of us horse owners/hobby farmers/general use guys sot there's less competition. With the smaller market for the larger ones you can get them at a good price.

I help a farmer around here and use his JD 3020's and 4020's they are from 1969 to about 72 or so and are 65 and 95 pto horsepower respectively.

I think the 3020 with a FEL at around 65 or so HP would work great for you and they are not that much money considering what you get and the availability of parts and acessories. The 95 HP 4020 might be overkill but the prices seem to be about the same.

I see them online well under $10,000 U.S. or around 10,000 Candian some with 3rd party loaders.

If I had 70 acres I would look for something like that. This way I could plow, fix the road and haul wood without having to worry about having enough machine, all for much less than folks pay for new 25 hp compact trcators. ....

View my Photos
TomG

2003-09-20          64405