Go Bottom Go Bottom

Box blades

View my Photos
Wildman1
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-10-25          67081

One other question: reversing the blades.
I've got a 2000' gravel airstrip to begin maintaing. The problem we're having is aircraft blowing the gravel to the sides concaving the middle. I'm going to use a 60" rear blade to drag the gravel back to the center, then plan to use the box to level it. I'm wondering if reversing the front blade would make for better leveling.

I'm new to box blades but after using it to scrape and level the banks along my 180' driveway I'm impressed. It took me an hour to get the top link set right and then it started doing the job. Fortunately, I can reach the top link from the driver's seat on the 2210.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Box blades

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-10-25          67091

Mike, have you thought about a chain harrow to level once you blade the gravel back to the middle? ....

Box blades

View my Photos
Art White

2003-10-25          67094

The blade will work, you might want to consider a little mortor or concrete mix spread down and wetted to hold the finer stuff in place a little more. ....

Box blades

View my Photos
Wildman1

2003-10-26          67109

Art & Mark, we are building a 100 gal. tank and spray bar to spread dust control agent. I'm not sure what the agent is yet but that's a major concern keeping the fines from blowing away. I think we'll be going to an asphalt emulsion agent.

Even then we'll have to grade every other month or so to get the gravel back and spray once or twice per year. Prop wash creates a unique invironment that gravel roads don't experience.