Go Bottom Go Bottom

problem with 1050 woods backhoe

View my Photos
robertpberg
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2010-07-09          172207

i have a woods 1050 backhoe, the problem i have is when i pull handle to raise or lower boom , the boom creeps down until valve is all the way activated. any help would be greatly appreciated i have some knowledge in hydraulics.
thanks in advanced,
Buckeye Bob

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2010-07-10          172215

Robert, I assume the "lever" is the boom up/down control, and I don't exactly get what happens when the boom sinks. But hydraulic seals do fail in time, usually requiring troubleshooting to locate where, and bringing that part to a hydraulics shop for a new seal. ....

View my Photos
hardwood

2010-07-10          172216

Bob;
Welcome to the form, we try our best to help if we can, and sometime you likely can help one of us too.
I'm not familliar with your backhoe valve but have used other brand hoes. So far I haven't had to get into a valve, but I'd guess they all are pretty similar inside.
Perhaps a bit more description on the way ot acts would help. If I get it correctly when you move the control lever you have no function between creep and full speed? Is there some linkage between the lever and the valve spool that may have enough wear or an obstruction like a dirt buildup making the spool hard to move?
From there getting into the valve itself is something I haven't had to do yet on a backhoe, but I've had other valves apart. I'm sured there are "O" rings, springs, balls, etc. etc. that will jump out all over the place when it comes apart, so I hope you don't have to get into that.
Frank. ....

View my Photos
robertpberg

2010-07-10          172220