Go Bottom Go Bottom

help with buying used tiller

View my Photos
coloradotrout
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2006-08-15          133357

There is a used tiller down the road that I may be interested in. He's asking $500 and says it is orange; that he used is lightly for 6 years; bought it used from implement dealer. He has no idea what brand or model.

Any suggestions on what to look for? How can I tell if it's gear or chain? How can I tell if there is a slip clutch or not? Sorry.. I'm a novice at this; any help appreciated.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
brokenarrow

2006-08-15          133367

Your slip clutch is goes from the tractors power take off gear to the gear on your tiller.
I would ask to see it run. Listen to it run. Should be relatively quiet. Look at the tines under the lift gate. (btw) make sure the lift gate opens/closes and works properly. While doing that, check the cutting tines underneath it. IMO, I would count all the tines to make sure they are all there. ....

View my Photos
brokenarrow

2006-08-15          133368

Also make sure they are not too damaged. All these points are ways to get him to come down in price.
You can still get a new KK tiller for anywhere from $1100 to $1600 depending on size. If you have to buy a slip clutch, tines hardware for the tines!!!!!!! etc it all adds up fast. (look at the KK web site and look at the PARTS for a KK tiller! The price on the hardware is phenominal!!!!!!(like $280!!!) ....

View my Photos
earthwrks
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-08-16          133400