Go Bottom Go Bottom

How do you get stumps out

View my Photos
Roger L.
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

1999-06-12          5016

To remove stumps I try to get a little up force or I push on them witheither the loader or the backhoe. Then while the bucket is holding the force on the stump I take an old chainsaw reserved for thispurpose and cut through all the dirty roots that I can find. I will even stick the nose of this chainsaw into the ground. Then climb back on the tractor and try to tilt the stump somemore.....repeat until done... Sure is a lot of work. Anyone else have a better way? Roger L.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Rob

1999-06-12          5019

I'm kinda new at this tractor business so I don't know if this is a better way or not...Visualize the stump in the center of a square box. I dig down with the backhoe on all four sides, usually moving the tractor twice. If the 'hoe can't break a root, I just move a foot or so over and dig again where the root is most likely smaller. I only had to actually dig on all four sides once, that was on about a thirty inch stump that had a ball about four feet in dia. once I got it out. I've tried to cut the roots, but for me it is easier to rip them with the hoe. I'm also learning how to use the dipperstick together with the bucket to get some serious digging force. My total lifetime hours on a tractor is around 23, so I'll be interested in hearing from some of the more experienced tractor folks also. ....

View my Photos
Alan

1999-06-12          5023