Go Bottom Go Bottom

oil for diesel engin

View my Photos
kevin3251
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-12-08          45868

It occured to me that I read on the oil container that it meet all sorts of specifications API, GL, etc. so I looked at the oil on the shelf an it meet all current new car and light truck GASOLINE requirments.
What should I put in my TC24D? I am new to diesel engins's and I don't want to start off on the wrong foot.
Kevin

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

oil for diesel engin

View my Photos
BillMullens
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-12-08          45869

Kevin,
You're probably looking at some name-brand oil such as Valvoline, Castrol, Pennzoil, etc that is meant to be used in passenger cars or light trucks. For diesels, you need an oil such as Shell Rotella or Chevron Delo 400 (there are many others, but those are the two that are commonly available around here). Look at the API Service Categories on the back of the bottle. A "C" such as CH-4, CF, etc. is for compression fired (diesel) engines, an "S" such as SJ is for spark fired (gasoline) engines.

You can always buy the New Holland brand oil from the dealer. I've never priced it because my NH dealer is almost 2 hours away; I use Delo 400 in my TC29.

Hope it helps,
Bill ....

Link:   API service categories

oil for diesel engin

View my Photos
cutter
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-12-08          45873

I used Mobil Blend in mine the last change. I had the same question regarding the gasoline statement on the bottle so I contacted Mobil. They said it is fine to use in a deisel as Bill suggested, it has the CG rating. It was around $2 a quart at Wally World. ....

oil for diesel engin

View my Photos
kevin3251

2002-12-09          45901