Go Bottom Go Bottom

HELP

View my Photos
Matt W>
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-09-26          42938

Have Ford 1310 w/ FEL, was back blading today and the front end FELL OFF !!! The only thing holding the front axle on is the steering linkage. I'm no mechanic but I can turn a wrench. It appears that the spindle for the front drive pulled right out of the linkage. Is this common ??, Has anyone exprienced this themselves ?? Any advice or suggestions ?? I really do not know what to do next. Appreciate any words of wisdom.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

HELP

View my Photos
JonB

2002-09-26          42972

Hopefully someone with experience can offer a solution, but if I was in your spot, since I'm no mechanic, I'd get someone out there that knows Ford tractors. Doing it myself would probably cost more in aggravation and lost time than hiring experience--which is what I tell people about my day job. Good luck with it, and let us know how it turns out.

BTW, when I first got my JD4100, a massive bolt running through the frame and the front end had a nut totally loose. Fortunately I found it before the front end fell off, and tightened it before doing any work. I check that bolt regularly now. ....

HELP

View my Photos
TomG

2002-09-27          42982

Matt: That's a real unfortunate thing to happen. I pretty much agree with Jon that the repair is likely to go beyond what many owners can do themselves. It's not so much that it's all that complicated, but some tools, jacks etc. that most people don't have are needed.

To illustrate, the link I included gives a parts diagram of the 1310 front differential gears. The front axle mounts to the frame by a stub that is part of the differential case and goes in the axle pivot. Additional support comes from a rear mount that the pinion shaft goes through. The diagram does not contain the drive shaft tube.