Go Bottom Go Bottom

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
PaulPrince
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-03-20          80499

I'm new to tractors and just bought a BX23. I have a 1500 ft dirt road with gravel, road base, etc. I'm trying to improve for snow and rain by digging a trench along the side. Am I over-stressing the backhoe by using it as a sort of plow (digging it in then driving the tractor along..). I'm concerned it might be putting excess stress on the arm cylinder.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
harvey
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-03-20          80503

That is a very unhealthy thing to do. From many different stand points.

If you catch something you are apt to bend cylinder rods. Break pivot pins. Over stress bushings.

That is some of the mechanical things. We won't go into the safety issues.

Get a scraper blade, angle and tilt it that will keep the stress of ditching much lower. ....

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
hardwood
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-03-20          80505

PaulPrince; believe every word harvey said, please don't do that, no backhoe was ever built to do that. Frank. ....

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
PaulPrince

2004-03-20          80517

Harvey, Frank; Thanks for the advice!, sure didn't seem like a good idea...
I've got a box scraper I haven't tried yet, guess it's time to puzzle out the 3-point hitch.
Best Regards,Paul ....

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
itsgottobegreen

2004-03-20          80533

I agree. You will rip the backhoe right off the machine if you hit something hard enought. No warrenty would cover that. ....

Backhoe as a plow

View my Photos
TomG

2004-03-21          80551