Go Bottom Go Bottom

Block Heater Do I Need One

View my Photos
Tom from NJ
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-09-15          42411

Newbie here to tractors and diesel engines. When do you need a block heater? I live in New Jersey, our winters vary from mild, a few snow storms, to getting dumped on. We will get periods of cold weather, below 0 for sometimes for a week or so, but most times temperature are above 0. I plan on using the tractor for snow removal and will have it parked in my shed, no heat, and on my driveway when I expect a big storm. I know heating the engine is better for a diesel as far as wear of the parts go, so do I need one? I think Kubota has one for about $100-$150.

Thanks

Tom

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
TomG

2002-09-16          42456

I believe that block heaters keep the cylinder walls warm and the head to a lesser extent, which helps starting in very cold weather.

A block heater came with my used Ford so it's a little hard for me to say if I need one because I always use it when it's cold. I can say that it gets colder here than in N.J. but fortunately it seldom snows much when it's very cold so I seldom have to start the tractor in say -30F or colder.

I only use the heater when it's around zero F or less. Above that it starts fine. After several hours on the heater, it might start better in -10F than it does in the summer. More than several hours on a heater probably doesn’t do much.

I suppose a heater is a good idea, and they do reduce wear I believe. Winter engine and TX oil, anti-gel fuel additive, and keeping the battery charged also help. Opening the hand throttle 1/2 - 3/4 also helps starting. A diesel has to spin fast to start and low batteries and thick oils slow the starter down.

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-09-16          42460