Go Bottom Go Bottom

Kubota BX2200

View my Photos
Gerald
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-03-14          25502

I recently bought a house with 10.5 acres. About 5 acres are woods, 2 acres yard around the house and 3.5 large open front yard. I am new to the compact tractor world. My local dealer suggested a Kubota BX2200 with 60" deck. I also have a long asphalt driveway where we get a couple snows each year here in Indiana. He said a rear blade would probably be enough to remove the snow and avoid the cost and pain of putting on and off a front hydralic snow blade. He priced the Bx2200, deck and rear blade for $10,750. Can anyone give me their opinion on what would best fit my needs? Do I need a bigger tractor that would handle a 72" deck? Thanks for your help.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Kubota BX2200

View my Photos
Bird Senter

2001-03-14          25507

Gerald, when I bought my 10 acres 6 years ago, I bought a B7100 Kubota, and a year and a half ago, I traded up to a B2710. And I'd had a fair amount of experience in the past with tractors. For what you say you want to do, I'd say the BX2200 is a fine little machine, but think there are two other things you need to consider. First, I wouldn't buy it without the front end loader; that's probably the handiest and most used implement compact tractor owners have. Secondly, think long and hard about what other jobs you might want to do. I think nearly everyone who buys a compact tractor finds lots of things they want to do with it, after they get it, that they didn't think of before buying. Lots of folks trade up in size, very few trade down; however, there are certainly jobs and circumstances in which smaller tractors are better. If you have any slopes to mow, the BX will be more stable than some of the larger machines. Good luck and have fun shopping. ....

Kubota BX2200

View my Photos
gws

2001-03-16          25570