Go Bottom Go Bottom

B7200 Transmission Trouble

View my Photos
studioe
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2010-01-05          167905

I have been using my Kubota B72000D 4WD for about 6 months now for mowing. I just bought a blower for the rear PTo to do my driveway, and have discoverd that it is a challenge to say the least due to the machine being a standard. Snow clogs, etc. only after the first time using it this weekend.

However, about an hour after using the blower for the first time, I started noticing that the clutch was having trouble engaging (or is that disengaging?). I'd push the pedal to the floor, and it still wanted to drive. Additiionally, it was becoming more and more difficult to put it in and out of gear, which became a dangerous situation.

I tried adjusting the turnbuckle on the clutch arm and also adjusted the screw to allow for more pedal travel, but no good. the pedal goes as far as I can push it, and the engine still wants to pull.

I called my local Kubota dealer, but since I do not have a trailer large enough to haul this, there's little he could tell me other than he though the rear case would have to be split and the clutch looked at to determine the issue...around $1000 task including $200 in parts if indeed a failed clutch was the issue.

My questions are,

1. Could the attachment of the blower be causing this?
2. Could a low fluid level in the rear trasmission cause this?
3. Is this an accurate assessment?

My second part of the question is....

What would you suggest on a minimal budget as a solution? I need to mow 2-3 steepish acres with apple trees (low clearance), and clear a steepish 250' long driveway. Plow on my truck is expensive and would kill my transmission faster. Maybe a small riding mower with a wide cut and pay for plowing? Quad with a plow and a pull-behind mower? Trade this rtactor in for a newer small Kubota?