Go Bottom Go Bottom

Should I keep GF 1800 or replace

View my Photos
yuppiecanada
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2008-12-19          158701

I own a property of less than 100 acres. I use several different vehicles to maintain it. I bought a GF 1800 4W with removable mower deck and snow blade about 10 years ago to manage the property. I mow about 20 acres. I have a lot of snow to remove. I have maintained it religiously.

My GF 1800 has to have its "hydraulic motor"(?), I am not technical" repaired/replaced. I am quoted (all Canadian dollars) $2500 or so in parts plus labor etc and it has been suggested that I may want to simply replace with a newer/new unit. We have 1,470 hours on the unit and the engine has just had an overhaul. I no longer use the unit to mow.

First, what do you think about the cost to repair and the suggestion to replace.

Second, if to replace what would people recommend since I only use the unit for snow plowing and hauling/dumping with the attached trailer. It would seem I may not need this big a unit if I am not mowing with it. What do you think it might be worth in tradein. It has been suggested that I could get $1000 "to use it for parts" and I haven't asked it that includes the blade or mower deck.

I am looking forward to whatever comment you want to share. This is a big expediture for us and I would like to research it well.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
auerbach
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-12-20          158709

If that's a Kubota, there's lots of dealers. If someone told you it needs a hydraulic pump, I'd get a second opinion. ....

View my Photos
earthwrks
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2008-12-20          158714