Go Bottom Go Bottom

What would you do differently

View my Photos
ex-IT-boy
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2007-06-25          143215

I am new to tractors and to rural life in general, so dont be afraid to rip me a new one!

I have 7.5 acres in sandy, stumpy, hilly, parially wooded east Texas. After talking to several NH, JD and Kubota dealers, I am leaning towards a Kubota L3400 HST, Ansung FEL, 5ft Bush Hog cutter w/ slip clutch.

Is there anything you would do differently? Anything you thought, in retorspect, "I wish I had..." In particular, I am looking for a few things I might get the dealer to throw in for free as a buying incentive.

I am planning on doing a bit of FEL work... does that imply I need to get rear wheel weights? Or would I be better with some 3pt ballast system?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
kleinchris

2007-06-25          143218

I have a bunch different machines that I don't own, but I might as well. 2 JD tractors, 2 Gators, a Bobcat, and 2 Scag mowers. These machines were purchased for my employment before I was hired on, and then my employers said "Here you go..." Don't get me wrong, all are pretty good machines, however if I would have been around I would have purchased simalar machines from a dealership right up the road. The way I see it, I'm going to break stuff no matter who makes it. The quicker I can get parts and advice, the more useful of a machine I have. I might mention that my employer paid a little more for that equipment that comes with green paint, and that stuff breaks just as well as any other color tractor. ....

View my Photos
bvance
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2007-06-26          143219

Exit,

If you do any FEL work, you will want some rear ballast.