Go Bottom Go Bottom

Used 4300

View my Photos
bonecutter1
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-12-21          46409

Hello All!! I'm new to the message board. This is a great forum and I think some of you might be able to answer a couple of questions for me. I just bought a used JD 4300. The tractor is VERY Clean with newer 430 loader and 150 hrs. I paid $13,000... I didnt think that was to bad a price.. The JD serial# LV43005231077...

1) I was hoping someone could tell me if this unit has the front axel with all the problems? Or was it already resolved when this unit was built?

2) The dealer thought it was a 1999. Is that accurate?

3) Does the serial number show any major issues in the tractors past?

Anything you folks could tell me would be helpful :)

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Used 4300

View my Photos
DICK-W

2002-12-21          46414

Sounds like you got a great deal on your rig. I also have a used "99" JD 4300 tlb that I am trying to find out about the front axle issue. My dealer did'nt seem to know to much about it, but said it is probably a "fix on fail" type deal. I hope this is not true cause my warranty runs out in 3 months. Does any one know about these types of repairs that shuold be done before warranty runs out and how to get dealer to do it. ....

Used 4300

View my Photos
harvey
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-12-22          46423

Morning Guys

There are 3-4 PIPS (product improvement Programs) for those tractors if I remember correctly, depending on hydro or reg trans. I do not think the axle was one. If the axle bothered they would replace it. To tell the difference is: the new ones only have 1 hyd cylinder toward the right side and a tie rod back to the left side. IE; two ball joints at wheel on the right and only one on the left. The older style had two cylinders, one to each wheel.